Faculty



Anders, Allison

Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Filmmaker, Film Music
SSMS 2433
admin@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu


Bloom, Peter

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Director of Graduate Studies
Specializations:Early Cinema, French/Francophone
(Post)-Colonial film, African Art and Media, Visual
Anthropology
SSMS 2413
pbloom@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu


Brusutti, Anna

Film & Media Studies Lecturer
Specializations: Italian Cinema, Introduction to Cinema, Children's Media
SSMS 2423
brusutti@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Chang, Alenda

Assistant Professor of Film & Media Studies
Specializations: Environmental media, game studies
SSMS 2018
achang@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Curtin, Michael

Duncan and Suzanne Mellichamp Professor
Vice Chair of Film & Media Studies
Director, 21st Century Global Dynamics Initiative
Specializations:media globalization, cultural geography, industry and policy studies, and creative labor
SSMS 2318
mcurtin@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Damluji, Mona

Assistant Professor of Film & Media Studies
Specializations: Cultural Studies of Energy/Environment, Middle East Film & Media, Urban Studies
SSMS 2415
damluji@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Driskel, Dana

Studio Professor of Film and Media Studies,
Specializations: 16mm Production, Animation,
Project Development
driskel@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Everett, Anna

Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Film and Television History and Theory,
Black Film, Digital Media Technologies.
SSMS 2322
everett@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Felando, Cynthia

Film and Media Studies Lecturer
Specializations:Contemporary Trends
in International Cinema
SSMS 2423
cynfile@earthlink.net


Golding, Jarrett

Lecturer Film and Media Studies
Specializations:Screenwriting
SSMS 2419



Hebdige, Dick

Professor of Film and Media Studies and Art
Specializations: Cultural Studies
SSMS 2409
hebdige@arts.ucsb.edu



Holt, Jennifer

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Media Industry Studies, Policy and Regulation, Digital Media
SSMS 2421
jholt@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Jenkins, Chris

Film & Media Studies Lecturer
Head of Production
Specializations: Crew Production, Documentary production, Cinematography, Editing
SSMS 2308
cjenkins@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu


Learned-Wolf, Alison

Film & Media Studies Lecturer
Specializations: Production, Editing, Screenwriting, Special Effects, New Technology
SSMS 2419
awolf@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu




Melnick, Ross

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Archive Theory and Practice
SSMS 2405
rmelnick@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Michael Miner

Film & Media Studies Lecturer
Specializations: Beginning Screenwriting, Advanced Screenwriting, The Modern Narrative
SSMS 2419
mminer@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Penley, Constance

Professor of Film and Media Studies,
Specializations: Film History & Theory, Media Studies,
Feminist Theory, Science & Technology Studies, and Contemporary Art
SSMS 2310
penley@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Petro, Patrice

Dick Wolf Director of the Carsey-Wolf Center
Presidential Chair in Media Studies
Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Film and media history, criticism, and theory; theories of modernism and modernity, globalization and technology; feminism and critical theory
SSMS 2016
petro@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
805-893-2750



Sarkar, Bhaskar

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Chair of Film & Media Studies
Specializations: Post-Colonial Media Theory, Cultural Theory, Asian Cinemas
SSMS 2312
sarkar@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu
(805) 893-5549



Shereen Sakr, Laila

Assistant Professor of Film & Media Studies
digital arts, media theory/practice, algorithmic culture, feminist practice, middle east new media, social justice, data visualization, live cinema, creative coding, vr/ world building, virtual body politic
SSMS 2020
ssakr@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu

 


Siegel, Greg

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Media History and Theory, Critical and Cultural Theory, Science and Technology Studies
SSMS 2407
gsiegel@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Steinkellner, Cheri

Lecturer Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Television Writing, Comedy



Venegas, Cristina

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies,
Specializations: Cinema and Media of the Americas
SSMS 2411
venegas@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Walker, Janet

Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Documentary film and media; film historiography; feminism and film theory; trauma and memory; media and environment
SSMS 2314
jwalker@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Wolfe, Charles

Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Film History, Historiography, Documentary Film, American Cinema
SSMS 2316
wolfe@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu



Yamamoto, Naoki

Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
Specializations: Film theory; Asian cinema; documentary films; avant-garde art movements; cultural theory; Japanese popular culture
SSMS 2417
yamamoto@filmandmedia.ucsb.edu